Chronology of major events in Nigeria


Dedicated to Nigeria's History, Socio-Economic and Political issues




LUNARPAGES.COM and IPOWERWEB.COM - Despicable WebHosts - Read My Story




Chronology of major events in Nigeria 1960 - 2000

October 1960: Nigeria Gains independence from Britain
October 1963: Nigeria becomes a Republic
January 1966: First military coup led by Maj. Chukwuma Kaduna Nzeogu
July 1966: Counter coup by Lt-Col Yakubu Gowon.
May 1967: Nigerian Civil War starts
May 1967: Gowon divides Four Regions into 12 states.
Jan. 1970: Nigerian Civil War ends
1972: Nigeria changes currency from Pound to Naira, introduces metric
1973: Nigeria switches from left- to right-hand driving
1973:  Nigeria hosts All-Africa Games
1973:  Nigeria inaugurates National Youth Service Corps
1974:  Gowon reneges on planned handover in 1976
1975:  Birth of Economic Community of West African States.
July 1975: Brig. Murtala Mohammed topples Gowon in Military Coup
1976:  Murtala increases states to 19
Feb. 1976: Murtala killed in failed military coup, Olusegun Obasanjo takes
1977: Nigeria hosts second Black and African Festival of arts and culture
Oct. 1979: Obasanjo hands over power to Shehu Shagari, Second Republic
1980: Nigeria hosts and wins African Nations Cup for first time
Dec. 1983: Gen. Muhammadu Buhari topples Shagari in military coup
August 1985: Gen. Ibrahim Babangida ousts Buhari in military putsch
1985:  Nigeria wins first-ever global soccer title (U-16 FIFA/KODAK CUP)
1987:  Failed military coup led by Maj.-Gen. Mamman Vatsa
1987:  Babangida increased states to 21
1990:  Failed military coup led by Maj. Gideon Orkar
1990:  Nigeria spearheads formation of ECOMOG
1991:  Babangida creates nine more states, bringing total to 30
June 1993: Babangida reneges on hangover plan, annulled presidential poll
1993:  Ernest Shonekan assumes office as head of interim government
November 1993: Gen. Sani Abacha seizes power from Shonekan
1995: Commonwealth Slaps Sanctions on Nigeria
1995:  Government announces aborted 'Coup' against Abacha
1996:  Abacha increases states to 36
1996: Nigeria wins first Olympic gold medals in long jump and soccer
1997:  Another 'coup' against Abacha foiled
8 June 1998: Abacha dies suddenly, Gen. Abdulsalami Abubakar assumes office
29 May 1999: Abdulsalami cedes power to Obasanjo.
1999:  Nigeria hosts World Youth Soccer Championship
2000:  Nigeria Co-hosts African Nations Cup with Ghana
2000: Nigeria joins league of world gas producers


horizontal rule

1998 - 2015 Segun Toyin Dawodu. All rights reserved. All unauthorized copying or adaptation of any content of this site will be liable to  legal recourse.


Segun Toyin Dawodu, P. O. BOX 3969, Gettysburg, PA  17325-0969, USA.

This page was last updated on 04/08/15.